St Mary’s BNS has a rich history in Gaelic Games, competing annually in locally organized blitzes as well as Cumann na mBunscol’s annual leagues.

In recent years, we have entered as many as nine teams across the senior and junior Cumann na mBunscol competitions in both codes; hurling and gaelic football.

St Mary’s made history in 2014, winning the coveted Herald Cup, Hurling’s Division 1, following it up with a second success in 2017 and again in 2022.

Illustrious past-pupils in Gaelic Games include the Carrs; Declan, Tipperary’s All-Ireland winning hurling captain of 1991 and his brother, Tommy, of Dublin football fame. Paul Casey is the holder of an All-Ireland football medal as well as 7 Leinster titles. Johnny McCaffrey, has captained the Dublin hurlers to Leinster Championship and National League success.

We are very proud of our Herald Cup (Division 1) heroes who captured the prestigious trophy, for only the third time, in Croke Park in June 2022. Captained brilliantly by Victor Adanikin, who overcame serious injury to play, they defeated a brilliant Belgrove team on a score line of 1-6 to 0-5, in what was a hard-fought and thrilling win. Huge credit must go to all 21 players as well as the Senior B squad who’ve supported them brilliantly in training.

The victorious squad was:
Victor Adanikin, Shane Brennan, Senan Carley, Elliot Keane, Darragh Kennedy, Sean Lynch, Rory O’Connell, Calum O’Neill, Conor Gilmore, Colm Murphy, Conor Sheahan, Jack Biggs, Joseph Cosgrove, Liam Dunne, Dylan O’Byrne, Sean Solan, Harry Walsh, James Dillon, Alex McMahon, Johnny Donovan and Will Keane.

Chapel Hill, Lucan, Co. Dublin, K78YD27
01 628 1857
© 2024 St Mary's BNS Lucan